16
 667

 Julie Broadbent Photography review

We booked Julie Broadbent for our wedding August 5th, 2012. She never showed up, neither Julie nor her assistant phoned the day of our wedding and the emergency backup photographer listed in our contract never came. The day after our wedding we noticed her sister had sent an email August 6th at midnight reading that Julie had been in a car accident and would be contacting us as soon as she was able. At this point we pictured both Julie and her assistant in a hospital ICU somewhere. Two days after our wedding we began to wonder if this bad accident had made the news, so we googled Julie Broadbent and what we found was her personal facebook page where she had been posting jokes since the day after our wedding. At this point Julie was contacted by phone and tells us that she had been in a car accident where she broke her leg, she has given us no reason to believe this is the truth. Even if this is the truth, an accident of this nature is upsetting and painful, but not a reason not to call us that day and certainly not a reason not to send the emergency back up photographer. Also there is no reason why sharing musings on facebook came before contacting the clients she had neglected. She said her photography equipment was damaged and she had to cancel weddings for weeks to come, but, when asked to meet with us to go over how we would be reimbursed she said she wasn't available for weeks. After almost 2 months of frustration, on September 28th, 2012 we finally received back the money we had already spent on the services she never supplied and nothing more. She did nothing to compensate for the fact that our beautifully planned wedding had no professional photographer and no photo booth (something I was really looking froward to) and the memories of are wedding are tainted by the experience and dealings with Julie Broadbent. I truly wish this wasn't my wedding story, don't let it be yours.
avatar
 1 Oct 2012 8:44 AM
 2 Apr 2012
ftrmrsweatherdon
Rookie
170
I'm so sorry to hear that this happened to you! How terrible!!

I hope that you were able to get some photos from family and friends!

That is just so upsetting!
avatar
 1 Oct 2012 8:51 AM
 14 Dec 2011
 Ontario
joheryl
Rookie
220
So sorry you had to go through this!
avatar
 1 Oct 2012 9:51 AM
 2 Jan 2010
 Edmonton, AB
Jay Merryfield
Rookie
109
Truly, that's awful. I'm so sorry.
avatar
 2 Oct 2012 8:20 PM
 2 Oct 2012
emmers84
New Member
8
Are you sure you have the correct information? Julie Broadbent was my wedding photographer Sept 8th of this year and she was FABULOUS! She did have a broken leg (not sure of the deets) but I am sure this is not as bad as it sounds...She did an awesome job despite having a cast! She was very well prepared and had extra help shooting smile

Julie has shot mine and all three of my sisters weddings as well as some friends weddings and countless family events. I am not saying what you are claiming isn't true, but perhaps you have some of the facts wrong. I find it very hard to believe she didn't do everything she could to repremend the situation if in fact this is what happened. Not sure if it helps but her Assistant was changed for my wedding as they were on short term leave due to an accident. Feel free to PM me if you like.
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 12:26 PM
 23 Jan 2012
applepan
New Member
5
Thanks to those who commented. I guarantee this is exactly what happened. I am trying to figure out how to attach my signed contract to this thread and once I do I will provide it.

Jay, Julie has been trying to stop all of my reviews from being posted and I hope you truly are a happy customer and not just a friend of hers.
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 12:28 PM
 23 Jan 2012
applepan
New Member
5
Sorry i don't mean to sound curt but it truly was a very bad experience
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 3:57 PM
 2 Oct 2012
emmers84
New Member
8
I was not friends with her prior to my wedding, however we loved her so much we are now friends on Facebook and she is taking my doggies photos this weekend smile

Again, I am sorry this happened but there are two sides to every story and I just thought I would tell you this is VERY out of character for her as myself and family and friends have used her for YEARS and never ever had a problem.

Anyways, you should be enjoying married life not spending all your time creating reviews about something you cannot change. (You mentioned you wrote other things that are being deleted) Karma.

Getting married isn't just about the wedding and the photos, etc. it's about the MARRIAGE and about spending your life with someone so focus on that! Just sayin'! Don't let whatever did/didn't happen on your day ruin your GOOD memories.
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 5:53 PM
 23 Feb 2012
Sunnyab
New Member
20
emmers84 - I was with you up until the last two paragraphs.

Photos are extremely important to me, and if something like this happened to me - NO chance to record once in a lifetime moments - well, I would be pi**ed too! And as a future bride I would want to know all reviews - good and bad. We are all adults and we can make up our own minds, no matter who posts what.

Back to your last two paragraphs - you saying that to applepan is like me telling you that you should also be enjoying married life and not spending all your time contradicting negative reviews by other brides that did not have the fabulous experience that you did. You scolding her is like adding salt to the wound. Perhaps you should just focus on your new best friend and let others have and share their experiences, just as you can - minus the lecture on what makes a good marriage. Just sayin.

applepan, I don't know you at all, but I can totally relate to how you must feel. Hopefully family ahd friends got enough good pics that you can still reminisce in the years to come.
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 6:19 PM
 2 Jan 2010
 Edmonton, AB
Jay Merryfield
Rookie
109
It's worth mentioning that applepan might want to check her contract for what she is entitled to for compensation. In my wedding photography contracts I have a clause limiting my liability to the amount of the invoice in the event something comes up that doesn't allow me to photograph your wedding, so the best I will do is refund you everything.

It would be up to the bride to prove negligence if she wanted additional compensation.

Thank God that this has never been an issue for me, nothing but happy clients, but the clause is still there.
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 10:03 PM
 15 Nov 2011
skyla_11
New Member
23
As far as I understand it this is a forum for posting reviews, both positive and negative, not to attack each other or put others down that are already down in the dumps due to a bad experience.

emmers84 - It seems like you now see that your post was unnecessary but just to be clear it shouldn't matter how many times or where someone posts a review, she's just trying to get the word out so let her be. And feeling the need to say that something she wrote was taken off because of 'Karma', implying that she's getting what she deserves was pretty uncalled for. You had a good experience with this photographer, good for you, truly, but how would you feel if you were in this girl's situation, and not only that but if someone posted a msg like yours in response. This is a review forum for vendors not for you to tell people how they should spend their time and that they need to focus more on their marriage. You try to criticize her for having the time to post a review yet you have the time to read them all and negate them, and then try to put her down even more...To paraphrase an earlier poster it was like adding salt to a very big wound..."Seriously lol"?
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 10:11 PM
 2 Oct 2012
emmers84
New Member
8
blah blah blaah goodbye.
avatar
 3 Oct 2012 10:39 PM
 23 Feb 2012
Sunnyab
New Member
20
Exactly what I meant skyla_11!

emmers84 - I understood your post completely, but forgive me if I missed your Forum Posting Monitor badge. Is 'Meoow' your first or last name? Seems to fit. And I will stop there because I don't want to be the pot calling the kettle - because some people just never 'get' it.
avatar
 4 Oct 2012 4:12 PM
 23 Jan 2012
applepan
New Member
5
Jay sorry about that -- I meant my comment for the emmers person. But anyway, I am enjoying my time as a newlywed but 2 months of dealing with Julie to get the bare minimum of a refund did obviously add unneeded stress and that's why I feel the need to share my side. Thanks for your understanding.
avatar
 11 Oct 2012 11:08 PM
 9 Oct 2012
 Accountant
Terra87
New Member
5
So sorry to hear about your experience frown Julie is my photographer in two weeks! So far she's been really great.
avatar
 17 Oct 2012 11:45 AM
 23 Jan 2012
applepan
New Member
5
Hi I feel the need to add a bit of follow up to my review. I understand that maybe under some circumstances Julie Broadbent has worked fine for some people, however, the best judge of anyone or any business is how they deal when things go wrong. Julie Broadbent did not handle my wedding or even the circumstances after my wedding well. When I read anyone trying to say how wonderful they think she is, it makes me want to cry. I can not think of my wedding without at some point getting angry about her, and that is not a memory I want from such a wonderful day of my life. As I mentioned before she took 2 months to pay me back and all she gave was our deposit and the money we spent on meals for her and her assistant. We had to call her everytime we made contact and although she said the words I'm sorry, she never once said "I know not showing up for your wedding was horrible and this is what I am going to do to fix it" Those were the words that would have stopped all of this going on so long. and those should have been the words she said when SHE CALLED US (which never happened).

Since I originally posted reviews, she has been emailing websites saying "I cancelled my wedding" in order to have my reviews removed. I have had to send my marriage certificate and other documentation to different sites just to be allowed to tell my story that is 100% the truth. I wish she had put this kind of effort into having a photographer at my wedding.
avatar
 18 Oct 2012 6:04 AM
 23 Oct 2011
 Ottawa
Meechie
Chatterbox
489
You're right - it's when things aren't peachy that vendors really show their true colours. I'm proud of you for not backing down and I am so very sorry that you have to deal with all of this on top of not having a photographer there for your big day.
avatar
 31 Oct 2012 11:59 PM
 30 Apr 2012
 buzzle.ca
buzzle
New Member
0

Want to continue the discussion?

For more discussion like this or to reconnect with weddingbells.ca forum members, check out the forums at buzzle.ca!

More Like This...